Blog tour review – The Walls We Build – Jules Hayes

Excited today to be part of the blog tour for Jules Hayes’ The Walls We Build: A dual timeline WW2 story of misguided honour, love, and redemption. I do love a WW2 story, so am delighted to be part of the launch of this super book.  

About the book

Three friends … 

Growing up together around Winston Churchill’s estate in Westerham, Kent, Frank, Florence and Hilda are inseparable. But as WW2 casts its menacing shadow, friendships between the three grow complex, and Frank – now employed as Churchill’s bricklayer – makes choices that will haunt him beyond the grave, impacting his grandson’s life too.

Two Secrets …

Shortly after Frank’s death in 2002 Florence writes to Richard, Frank’s grandson, hinting at the darkness hidden within his family. On investigation, disturbing secrets come to light, including a pivotal encounter between Frank and Churchill during the war and the existence of a mysterious relative in a psychiatric hospital.

One Hidden Life … 

How much more does Florence dare reveal about Frank – and herself – and is Richard ready to hear?

Set against the stunning backdrop of Chartwell, Churchill’s country home, comes a tragic story of misguided honour, thwarted love and redemption, reverberating through three generations and nine decades.

For readers of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore, Katherine Webb, Lucinda Riley and Juliet West.

“Passion, intrigue and family secrets drive this complex wartime relationship drama. A page turner. I loved it.”  #1 bestselling author, Nicola May

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0855YZ3GG/
US – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0855YZ3GG/ 

Waterstones – https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-walls-we-build/jules-hayes/9781916338005

What did I think?

The Walls We Build is a really compelling dual time line novel, weaving a gripping present day story with before and during WW2 stories with some fabulous characters and rivetting scenes. The story concentrates on the friendship between Florence, Frank and Hilda and how it become affected and continued throughout the years.

The author’s writing style is wonderful, reeling you in from page one and it’s a book packed with a superb blend of thrills, love, mystery, history, family secrets and politics. Her descriptions take you to another world, and another dimension that you can clearly capture in your mind, keeping the pages turning quickly.

Highly recommended.

Don’t just take my word for it though. There’s a blog tour going on for this book with lots of bloggers sharing their thoughts. You can see who is on it, here.

About the author

Jules Hayes lives in Berkshire with her husband, daughter and a dog. She has a degree in modern history and holds a particular interest in events and characters from the early 20th century. As a former physiotherapist and trainer – old habits die hard – when not writing Jules likes to run. She also loves to watch films, read good novels and is a voracious consumer of non-fiction too, particularly biographies.

Jules is currently working on her second historical novel, another dual timeline story.

Jules also writes contemporary thriller and speculative fiction as JA Corrigan.

Jules Hayes  can be found at:

Website: https://www.jules-hayes.com/

Twitter @JulesHayes6  – http://www.twitter.com/JulesHayes6

Facebook Author Page: JulesHayesAuthor – http://www.facebook.com/JulesHayesAuthor

Instagram: JulesHayes6 – http://www.instagram.com/juleshayes6

Writing as JA Corrigan, Jules can be found at: Website: http://www.jacorrigan.com

Twitter: @juliannwriter – http://www.twitter.com/juliannwriter

Facebook Author Page: JA Corrigan – http://www.facebook.com/jacorrigan

Instagram: corriganjulieann  http://www.instagram.com/corriganjulieann

Giveaway to Win a Signed copy of The Walls We Build (Open INT)

*Terms and Conditions – Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will be passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494361/?

If you like this, please share.

If you like this, please share.