Skip to content

Blog Tour Review – The Man Across the Street by Marcie Steele

When Marcie Steele asked me to be part of the blog tour for The Man Across the Street, the first book in the The Hope Street Series, I couldn’t refuse. I loved her previous books, falling in love with the characters and the settings from the first pages.

And The Man Across the Street was no exception.

About the book

Maybe I’m scared to be happy…

Meet Hannah – she’s been her mum’s sole carer since she was eighteen. Now alone after Martha’s sudden death, Hannah feels lost in the only place she’s known as home, Hope Street. Coming up to a milestone birthday, she’s wondering what her purpose in life is.

Meet Doug – a workaholic, he’s in the office from dusk ’til dawn, and when he has a heart attack. Now on the mend, he needs to de-stress his life and focus on living it, to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

Doug moves to Hope Street, number 35. Hannah lives at number 34, directly opposite. From the moment they meet, there’s a spark.

But there are secrets too. Hannah’s mum has been keeping something from her, her sister left over twenty years ago, and there can’t be such a simple reason why Doug has moved to Somerley. Can there?

The Man Across the Street is the first of a new series by bestselling author, Marcie Steele. It features a host of characters living on Hope Street in the market town of Somerley, also featured in The Somerley Series. Each character will have their own standalone story in books to follow.

‘Marcie Steele writes with such down to earth warmth that you wish you could live in her stories. The Man Across the Street is no exception, full of characters that you’d love to be friends with.’ Tilly Tennant.

‘Love, secrets, intrigue, heartache. Find it all on Hope Street. An engaging tale of ordinary lives to warm you heart and restore your faith in mankind.’ Imogen Clark

If you love an uplifting story about new beginnings, then The Man Across The Street is the perfect read to curl up with. Fans of Hannah Ellis, Debbie Johnson and Emily Harvale will love this book.

So what did I think?

This was the perfect read for me to kick off the New Year. It’s full of love and hope and friendship and community. And there are twists and turns along the way. What more can you ask for?

Hannah was such a great main character. You really routed from her right from the start and I could totally relate to the fact that she used to natter to her mom, who she’d lost a couple of months previously. I can also relate to the fact of her coming up to her milestone birthday and how that feels although mine was a decade on from Hannah’s. The friendship between her and her bestie was pretty awesome too.

And Doug! Well, what can I say? How nice to have someone older as a book boyfriend. I wish he’d have moved into my street!

I’m lucky enough to live in a cul-de-sac, where we are all friends and we all look out for each other. Our kids have grown up almost being brothers and sisters and the community spirit that Marcie has written is perfect.

And I loved lots of the references in the book to 80s films and even the nickname for the local pub. We too, used to call one of our local pubs the same name!

I really enjoyed reading this book and am so looking forward to more in the series.

Don’t just take my word for the fact that this is a great read. You can also check out what other bloggers are saying:

You can purchase The Man Across the Street from:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the author

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been a meddler of words. Born and raised in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, I used the city as a backdrop for my first novel, Taunting the Dead, and it went on to be a Kindle number one bestseller. I couldn’t believe my eyes when it became the overall number eight UK Kindle bestselling book of 2012. 

Since then, my writing has come under a few different headings – grit-lit, sexy crime, whydunnit, police procedural, emotional thriller to name a few.

I like writing about fear and emotion – the cause and effect of crime – what makes a character do something. Working as a housing officer for eight years gave me the background to create a fictional estate full of good and bad characters. 

But I’m a romantic at heart and have always wanted to write about characters that are not necessarily involved in the darker side of life. Coffee, cakes and friends are three of my favourite things, hence writing under the name of Marcie Steele too.

I can often be found sitting in my favourite coffee shop, sipping a cappuccino and eating a chocolate chip cookie, either catching up with friends or writing on my laptop.

If you like this, please share.

If you like this, please share.

1 Comment

  1. Sarah Hardy on January 3, 2020 at 9:19 am

    Thank you so much for being on the blog tour today Kim x

Leave a Comment





Kim Nash

Scroll To Top