Blog Tour – Review – A Girl’s Best Friend by Jules Wake

As I became a dog mamma back in the New Year and could possibly confess to being a little bit dog obsessed, I leapt at the chance to read A Girl’s Best Friend by Jules Wake and be part of the blog tour.

What did I think? 

I’ve not read anything by Jules Wake or Julie Caplin before, and this is something that after reading A Girls’s Best Friend (click here to buy) I shall be remedying just as soon as I can find the time.

I always love a cosy village setting in a book and how the fascinating characters in the neighbourhood that you meet, become a huge part of a plot even though some of the parts are only small.  This was one of those books! I wanted to join in some of the awesome classes in the community centre and be part of what they had!  I wanted to learn so much more about them and could have explored the whole village and kept on reading forever.

I love the friendship which was formed between Bets and Ella and how she, along with Devon, welcomed her into their fold and became firm friends, but the thing that brought them together was the dogs.  Obviously a factor that warmed my heart.

Devon, I could VERY nicely picture well in my mind (as since I had to take my dog to the vet when I had him and again a few weeks ago, I’ve had a bit of a crush on Ed the Vet) so I had no problem conjuring up a possible romance interest for Ella in him and my mind went wandering off a few times with this prospect! LOL! (Hope Ed the Vet never reads my blog posts or I might not be able to ever look him in the eye!).  Loved the “will they, won’t they?” romance between them and the obstacles that are in their way.

And obviously, Tess! The fabulous furry star of the book who helped Ella to heal and become a very different person to the person who turned up in the village from the bright lights of London. Tess was a delight to read about, it was a pleasure to read about her too and how the relationship between Tess and Ella developed through the book.

This is a proper feel-good, heart-warming, gentle, downright enjoyable read, which leaves you with a warm fuzzy feeling in your heart and a big fat smile on your face. I LOVED IT!

About the book 

Welcome to your new cottage in the country – complete with grumpy vet, village gossip and a very muddy dog . . .

City girl Ella wants to take refuge in the country, lick her wounds and work out what she’s going to do with the rest of her life. She certainly doesn’t want to have a four-legged house guest or anything to do with village life. Unfortunately, the inhabitants of Wilsgrave have other ideas.

Settling in to her godmother’s house for a few months of R&R, Ella finds herself the reluctant babysitter of a badly behaved Labrador – and her plans of staying mainly indoors scuppered. But as she’s forced into wellies and into the village’s way of doing things, Ella meets people who make her think again about what she really wants out of life and love, starting with her new furry best friend …

A gorgeously romantic tale set in an idyllic countryside village, from the author of ebook bestseller Covent Garden in the Snow. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

About the author 

Jules Wake’s earliest known declaration that she planned to be a writer came at the age of ten. Along the way she was diverted by the glamorous world of PR and worked on many luxury brands, taking journalists on press trips to awful places like Turin, Milan, Geneva, Paris, Brussels and Amsterdam and occasionally losing the odd member of the press in an airport. It gave her the opportunity to eat amazing food, drink free alcohol as well as providing opportunities to hone her writing skills on press releases and to research European cities for her books.

Eventually the voices in her head persuaded her it was time to sit down and write the novel she’d always talked about. Her debut novel, Talk to Me in 2014, was quickly followed by the bestselling From Italy With Love, published by HarperImpulse, which reached the top ten in the Amazon Kindle charts. Since then she has had seven further novels published.

Jules’ book Covent Garden in the Snow was a Kindle Top 2 bestseller and her latest book A Girl’s Best Friend will be published by Sphere in September. She also writes cosy romantic fiction as Julie Caplin and her next book in the Romantic Getaway’s series, The Little Paris Patisserie, will be published by HarperImpulse in September.

Follow on twitter @juleswake. Or visit her on www.juleswake.co.uk

A Girls’s Best Friend (click here to buy)

Leave a Comment





Kim Nash